ECO-ACTION INC - ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

SUNDAY 26 SEPTEMBER 2021 @ 1.30pm - Kangaroo Island Yacht Club, Brownlow Tce, Kingscote.

PRESENT: Colin Wilson, Bev Maxwell (meeting chair), Caroline Paterson, Fraser and Mia Vickery, Deb Laver, Jenny and Ken Grinter, Catherine Murphy, Reiko Hosokawa, John Matheson, Jenny Harris, Janet Simpson, Jill Brooks, John Blumson, Nirbeeja Saraswati, Peter Hammond, Peter Hastwell, Bill Jenner, Sue Merchant, Philip Partridge, Anne A'Herren

APOLOGIES: Tony & Meredith Geyer, Rosemarie Williams, Diana Hetzel, David & Lynda Dowie, John Hodgson, Lois HAska, Peter Martin, Ingereth MacFarlane, Gisela Robinson

Welcome	Bev Maxwell – chaired the AGM.	
Confirmation of Previous Minutes (2019-2020)		Moved – Caroline Paterson Seconded – Fraser Vickery
		Accepted.
Business arising from previous minutes	nil	
Financial report	Receipt and adoption of the Association's audited financial statement and Treasurer report – Presented by Mia Vickery (treasurer)	Moved – Mia Vickery Seconded – John Matheson
	Term Deposit - \$29,279.95 Incentive Saver - \$795.79 (set up for the PPnPP campaign) Society cheque \$13347.23 of which is \$4084.40 is the remaining funds from Land care Stage one payment of \$15962.40. (Remaining \$3990.60 of the total grant of \$19798 Will be paid at completion of project) TOTAL \$43,422.97 with a TRUE CASH amount of \$39,338.57	Accepted.
	Current bank signatories:	

	Deb Laver Mia Vickery Jenny Grinter Bob Huxtable (no longer a member, need to replace) There was discussion around whether EcoAction need a firth. Caroline Paterson suggested Colin Wilson to replace Bob Huxtable as a signatory	Moved: Caroline Paterson Seconded: Fraser Vickery Accepted.
EcoAction KI 2020-21 Activities	Receipt and adoption of the annual report as a list of activities provided to members. Insert list Flinders Chase Conservation Dividend Committee – Peter Hammond provided an update Marine Parks – Fraser Vickery provided a summary / update. Tony Geyer's contribution to this was acknowledged at the meeting. Bev Maxwell added the submission EcoAction provided for the Department for Environment and Water's (DEW) proposed Apiary Management Plan. Still awaiting feedback. Caroline Paterson added the attempt to re-establish a DEW consultative committee which has at this stage met twice but no formal relationship / relationship has been established as yet. The release of DEW's new Parks of Western and Central Kangaroo Island Management plan for public consultation was also highlighted. Copies can be found at https://yoursay.sa.gov.au/ki-west-central-manage-plan Consultation period will close on 17 December 2021 Fraser Vickery recognised passed members including Jack Dunstan (a former founding member of EcoAction and Wayne Veitch a member for many years.	

	Colin Wilson and Bev Maxwell recognised for the Conservation SA Jill Hudson Environmental Award. EcoAction also recognised for their long term action at the State Environmental Awards. EcoAction Website. Deb Laver provided an update on website, mission statement, revised logo. Establishing a clear mission statement for website based on EcoAction constitution,	Send any historic images or content to Deb Laver Suggestions / comments relating to an EcoAction mission Statement to Deb Laver
	EcoAction merchandise – tshirts, car stickers & tote bags	Those interested in any EcoAction merchandise contact Deb Laver
Membership	Membership renewal summary – Mia Vickery EcoAction has 51 financial members as of 26 September 2021. At this time in 2020 EcoAction had 69 members. This may have been a result of the PPnPP campaign and since its conclusion numbers have dropped off. Some discussion was had on how to increase membership	
	New application for membership. Constitution states that membership applications must be accepted at the AGM. Janet Simpson & Phillip Partridge nomination was received.	Moved – Caroline Paterson Seconded – Peter Hammond Accepted.
	Motion: that subsequent membership over the next 12 months be accepted by the EcoAction core group to ensure a more efficient and prompt accepting of membership nominations.	Moved - Fraser Vickery Seconded - John Matheson
Core group Vacancies	Membership if for 2 years Current members: Peter Hammond Fraser Vickery Ingereth Macfarlane John Hodgson	

	John Matheson has stepped down from core group. His contribution was noted and he will continue on as a member of EcoAction.	
	Nomination for three vacancies: Caroline Paterson renominated by Peter Hammond	Moved Peter Hammond Seconded Deb Laver
	Deb Laver renominated by Fraser Vickery	Moved Fraser Vickery Seconded Catherine Murphy
	Tony Geyer nominated by Fraser Vickery	Moved Fraser Vickery Seconded Peter Hammond
Appointment of Auditor	Mia Vickery renominated Jenny Harris	Moved – Mia Vickery Seconded – Caroline Paterson
Afternoon Tea		
Guest speaker	Honourable Robert Simms Greens MLC	
	Can be emailed at simms.office@parliament.sa.gov.au	
Meeting Closed 3:00pm		